Summer Fridays Mask Review.

Summer Fridays Mask Review by Grace

Okay I am going to do something I don’t usually do and just admit it- the new Summer Fridays R+R Mask is bust. Avoid. It’s basically a tube of (clean?) vaseline that’s sort of a scrub but not actually effective because the scrubby granules are immersed in the sticky vaseline so you can’t actually scrub your face. It’s a hot mess and totally ineffective BUT it does smell very lovely; like roses. I don’t want to write a bad review, but I also talk so much about this brand (and blindly buy all of their products whenever they launch something new – I don’t want you to make the same mistake I made!)

This mask is a hot mess. I used it and broke out. And then I thought something was wrong with me so I tried it again and broke out again. This mask is not a good one.

If you’re wondering why I had professional photos taken of this mask, it’s because I wanted to take nice photos before I got into the testing process. This is actually pretty normal – take pretty photos, then test the products. That way, you don’t have to worry about ruining the packaging if you are hard on things. It’s a good strategy for brands you love and use on the reg but this is an anomaly, it is a brand I truly love but it’s just not a good product.

I do love the brand otherwise, so let’s discuss their better masks. We shall never speak of the R+R Mask again as it’s terrible. Absolutely awful.  That being said, their other two masks are DIVINE. Truly, I don’t mean to talk shit but man – I don’t know what happened with this one!!!

Summer Fridays Mask Review: Jet Lag Mask

This mask is one of my holy grail favorite products. I’ve bought at least three tubes of it with my own money and have featured it here, here, and more recently, here. I LOVE this mask; especially when my skin is feeling dehydrated or tired… but also when I’m on the plane!

Uses:

This face mask is perfect for when you are flying or traveling (0r after flying or traveling, when your skin is all dried out!). It’s super hydrating and will instantly restore the skin’s moisture barrier; protecting it from dry airplane air or repairing the moisture it’s already lost if you are hungover, overtired, or have been traveling too much!

Ingredients:

This mask contains Vitamin C to brighten and even skin tone, Vitamin E to rid skin of free radicals, Sodium Hyaluronate to boost skin’s moisture content, and Arginine which is a naturally occurirng amino acid and the building block of proteins!

How to Use the Jet Lag Mask by Summer Fridays

  • This can be used before bedtime as an overnight mask. It’s great for all skin types, even sensitive skin.
  • It’s also great on the plane as an in-flight mask. Mist your face with a face mist and then spread on a thin layer (don’t worry, it goes on clear.)
  • Anytime you want to look uber dewy, add this to your skin care routine It will leave you looking like a Glossier model!
  • Basically, this mask is a good idea anytime moisturizer just isn’t enough or you have stressed out skin. It is amazing for dry skin. You don’t have to take it off, you can just rub it in after 10-15 minutes. There’s no need to rinse off, just tissue off excess and massage it in!

Summer Fridays Mask Review: Overtime Mask

Honestly, I love this mask too. I like to use it as a scrub, and I featured it on the blog here… I like to do this one and then put the Jet Lag mask on afterward.

Uses:

This mask is perfect for dull skin and uneven texture. It will clarify and polish away dead skin cells, leaving behind glowing skin!

Ingredients:

This face mask is packed with good for you ingredients! Pumpkin is actually loaded with fruit enzymes. It contains vitamin A and vitamin C to smooth and brighten. Beta Carotene supports natural skin turnover which leads to GLOWING skin.

How to Use the Overtime Mask by Summer Fridays

Apply a thick layer of the mask to clean, dry skin. Massage the formula into skin for a minute (as always – avoid eye area!) Leave on for ten minutes. Wash off using warm water and a wash cloth, and pat skin dry. Follow up with your usual evening routine (serum, moisturizer, oil). Use twice a week or whenever skin feels dull and dry! This mask contains gently exfoliating extracts and will leave skin feeling perfect and smooth.

Summer Fridays Mask Review Results

Honestly, both of these masks are FAB. I was a die hard fan til I tried the R+R  mask, but in thinking more about the other two, this one is the exception and not the rule. The Jet Lag mask is incredible for hydration and the two mask would be a great combo if you feel like double masking!

Just please – avoid the R+R mask. It’s terrible.

Summer Fridays Mask Review by The Stripe

photography by Lydia Hudgens.

Leave a Comment

Comments

  1. Looks good! I want to try their masks! 🙂

    Charmaine Ng | Architecture & Lifestyle Blog
    http://charmainenyw.com

  2. Rachelle says 6.5.19

    oh wow that’s too bad, I haven’t tried this brand. It’s the worst when a product makes you breakout. I can take it not doing anything but damn don’t make things worse.

    xo
    Pinksole

  3. Megan says 6.5.19

    Love your honestly! You actually sold me on the jet lag and overnight masks – I will need to give those a try!

  4. Kendal says 6.5.19

    I have heard such great things about the Summer Friday’s masks! I haven’t gotten the chance to try them just yet, but I might pick one of them up the next time I’m in Sephora!

    Kendal / Life With Kendal

  5. Jacqueline Smith says 6.5.19

    Thank you for your honest review!

  6. Kate says 6.5.19

    I also love the other two masks—THANK YOU for your honesty in reviewing the r+r one!!!!

    • It’s just crazy – I love their products so so much – this one is so terrible. It does smell really good though!

  7. Cait says 6.5.19

    Wow! Funny how things differ from person to person. I LOVE the R+R Mask! I use that and the jetlag literally every other night as an overnight mask, letting them sit for 10 min (or 45 min if I get sucked into a TV show, lets be honest) then tissue off the rose petals/excess. I also have very dry skin (eczema in the winter, thanks Chicago winters) and I’ve found this is just the perfect amount of moisture for me to glow. Like ever since I’ve started using it I GLOW.
    It is sooo oily and kind of messy, but I mean it is literally just oils in the ingredients. I will not hesitate to repurchase the second I’m out. And yes it does smell very lovely. Not knocking your thoughts on it, just funny how things can differ from person to person.

    • No this actually makes me happy and glad to know that it is working for someone!!!!

      I am going to email you; but do you want my tube? Happy to pop it in the mail to you!

  8. emma says 6.5.19

    AGH! I tried this mask and was like ugh, worst ever, return to Sephora immediately. I am relieved you felt the same way!

  9. Bethany says 6.5.19

    I love the Jet Lag mask that I bought based on your recommendations! And thank you for your honesty about this one, it sets you far and above other bloggers. Not all products are a win and hopefully Summer Fridays will examine this one again.

  10. Gina M.P. says 6.5.19

    Yes! Thank you for being honest and not shying away from posting a critical/negative review.

    I had a similar experience with La Mer’s Genaissance Serum. That shit was $640…I vomit a little when I think of what I spent on it. I bought it on a whim at Nordstrom because my mother is a bad influence when we shop together. We got home and used the serum in the evening and morning, and both of us had MASSIVE breakouts that took weeks to clear up. I promptly took it back to the La Mer counter at Nordstrom for a full refund, which they did. I don’t care what anything costs…if it irritates, worsens, or does not improve your skin, take it back and get your money back. Luckily Sephora is pretty great about that as well.

  11. Carrie Arndorfer says 6.5.19

    Oooh! Good to know. I had it in my cart on sephora, so glad I read this! I also love the other two masks for all the same reasons you shared. What a bummer they have a dud in this one.

  12. Kate says 6.5.19

    I have the jet lag mask and absolutely love it but I appreciate your honesty! And ps it makes me value your recommendations all the more since let’s face it … not all products are worth the money. When a company bombs on a product it’s good to know which to avoid.
    Thanks!

    • Exactly – they have two really great products but this last one is (for me) such a dud!!!!

  13. Elisabeth Hayes says 6.5.19

    I have been dying to try out Summer Fridays products for a while now, so thanks for the review!!

    xo, Elisabeth
    https://www.athomewithelisabeth.com

  14. Kaye says 6.5.19

    I coincidentally just bought Jet Lag but swerved R+R because of the bad Sephora reviews – thanks for validating this!!!

    (side note – I think a sentence dropped off!! “I LOVE this mask; especially when my skin is feeling dehydrated or tired… but also when”)

  15. Sarah says 6.5.19

    Thank you so much for being so honest! It makes all of your other recommendations so much more valuable!

  16. Katerina Pietri says 6.5.19

    I bought the jet lag mask based on your reviews and I freakin love it!! Thanks for your honesty regarding this one. We have similar skin types so I always appreciate your take on beauty/skin ❤️

  17. Nicole M. says 6.5.19

    Grace, I am so glad you published this review. I had a similar experience with…*whispers* the Dr. Bader cream, specifically The Rich Cream. I tried it on three separate occasions for a few nights each, and it broke me out every time. I desperately did not want it to be true (after having paid for the full-size), but after discontinuing use, my skin cleared up. I think it was just too heavy for me. Since it wasn’t exactly cheap, what I tried doing was mixing it with Kate Somerville Goat Milk moisturizer at night, and that works like a dream! I know Dr. Bader recommends it be the only product after cleansing, but my skin just doesn’t like that. I am so glad to know I’m not the only one who has had an adverse experience with a popular/”holy grail” beauty product!

    • I’ve actually had a few readers tell me this! That is such a bummer!!! But it’s so true – everyone is different, and what works for me might be terrible on someone else/what doesn’t work for me might be awesome for someone else!
      One thing that I find helps is to use toner before Dr. Bader – I find that it helps the product really sink in.

  18. Morgan says 6.5.19

    I wanted to love Summer Friday’s but their Jet Lag mask repeatedly gave me really bad breakouts so I can’t make myself try another one!

  19. Marta says 6.5.19

    I never thought of taking the pictures before trying out the products but it seems like the greatest idea ever, you made me feel so dumb haha I’m gonna start doing it instead of then spending time cleaning products and making them look the best possible after being used already. That seems like an amazing brand, although they have their downs, it seems like the ups are the rule. Definitely gonna check it out.

  20. aurelia says 6.5.19

    I love the honesty and wish more bloggers would actually disclose products they don’t like! There is a classy way to achieve that and you have done it!

  21. Sofia says 6.5.19

    So – while Im happy you love the other two masks, I would hope you would put a disclaimer that obviously products work differently for different people. I use the R+R because I need a “light” exfoliation after experiencing dermatitis for months on end from striping my skin. It does everything and more for me – no breakouts and just enough exfoliation to remove any texture thats bothering me. I follow it up with Jet Lag. You are certainly entitled to your opinion and respect it, but don’t say a product is terrible without the reminder that “to each their own.”

    • Hey Sofia,
      I did say that on social media. And I am really glad to hear that you love it.
      Best,
      Grace

  22. Lisa Autumn says 6.6.19

    I’ve just spent a week in hospital after breaking my leg and my skin looks horrendous! Need to invest in a new mask asap 🙂 Thank you!

    x Lisa | lisaautumn.com