Milk Sunshine Skin Tint Review!

Milk Sunshine Skin Tint Review

If you’re a regular reader you know that I take my product reviews very (very!) seriously. I spend a lot of time playing with things, testing them, layering them with other products, and so on and so forth. Any product has to be a home run to share it here. I try to keep an open mind and try everything, whether it’s a random Amazon find, something from the drugstore, or something more high end.

But sometimes I judge a product by it’s cover (packaging) and that was definitely the case with Milk Makeup. The packaging looks… a bit like a toy. So I had always discounted it. I’d played around with their lip & cheek oils and I really like the Kush mascara but in all honesty, Milk was a brand I’d mentally filed away as younger and just not for me. OKAY I WAS WRONG GUYS. Back in early January a mutual friend introduced me to a member of their team who wanted to send me a few things to test. I accepted but asked for skincare, not makeup. This skin tint was accidentally included in the mix and out of curiosity I played around with it… only to get instantly obsessed.

Milk Sunshine Skin Tint Review

It’s the perfect no-makeup makeup I had been looking for. Sheer, blendable, buildable color that leaves you dewy and radiant but not all foundation-y. I don’t use a lot. I do concealer under my eyes and around my nose and then after that I roll a little bit onto each section of my face (forehead, cheeks, down the bridge of my nose, chin) and blend it in with a BeautyBlender. In one minute, I look instantly better – but not like I’m wearing makeup. My skin still looks like skin, just more radiant, even, and dewy. I love this thing and think you really will too! My shade is “medium.”

Milk Sunshine Skin Tint Review

I’ve gotten a lot of questions asking how the Milk Sunshine Skin Tint compares to the KOSAS Tinted Face Oil. Coverage wise they are very very similar, but consistency wise they’re quite different. The KOSAS product is an oil, so it’s much “thicker,” and very hydrating. This doesn’t have any skincare in it; it’s really just a tint! I hope that helps. Also, this one has SPF!

photography by Carter Fish.

Leave a Comment

Comments

  1. Doree says 2.20.20

    Very intriguing… how do you feel it compares to the kosas oil foundation?

    • grace at the stripe says 2.21.20

      Hey! I really love both. It’s hard to pick a fav as they’re pretty different formulas. I just updated the blog post as so many people asked – see below!

      I’ve gotten a lot of questions asking how this compares to the KOSAS Tinted Face Oil. Coverage wise they are very very similar, but consistency wise they’re quite different. The KOSAS product is an oil, so it’s much “thicker,” and very hydrating. This doesn’t have any skincare in it; it’s really just a tint! I hope that helps. Also, this one has SPF!

  2. Maggie says 2.20.20

    How does this compare to the Kosas tinted face oil?

    • grace at the stripe says 2.21.20

      Hey! I really love both. It’s hard to pick a fav as they’re pretty different formulas. I just updated the blog post as so many people asked – see below!

      I’ve gotten a lot of questions asking how this compares to the KOSAS Tinted Face Oil. Coverage wise they are very very similar, but consistency wise they’re quite different. The KOSAS product is an oil, so it’s much “thicker,” and very hydrating. This doesn’t have any skincare in it; it’s really just a tint! I hope that helps. Also, this one has SPF!

  3. Alicia says 2.20.20

    I became a bit addicted to the Drunk Elephant tint that you recommended on here a few times. Is this different? Better? Any thoughts on comparing the two. Thank you!

    • grace at the stripe says 2.21.20

      Hey! They’re totally different products! The Drunk Elephant drops (I assume you mean the bronzing drops, at least – that’s the only DE product I use!) mix in with moisturizer or foundation or even face oil to give you a little glow. This is more similar to a traditional foundation; though it’s very sheer and lightweight!

  4. Kenna says 2.20.20

    I had seen some reviews on Sephora that mentioned difficulty with the applicator. What do you think of it? Did you have any issues?

  5. Jen says 2.20.20

    Curious if you’re going to try the new Ilia skin tint with SPF . . . It seems like a low maintenance lover’s dream.

    • grace at the stripe says 2.21.20

      I am! Only have had it for a little bit but my review will be out in mid-March. It’s great so far but I don’t think it can replace skincare!

  6. Amy says 2.21.20

    I really liked this product too but didn’t like the roller application! If you have the opportunity to give feedback through your Sephora collaboration, it might be worth mentioning! I would definitely re-purchase if it came in a normal tube. I’m

  7. Mili says 2.21.20

    How does it compare to the Kosas tinted face oil (which I bought based on your recommendation and love!)?

    • grace at the stripe says 2.21.20

      Hey! I really love both. It’s hard to pick a fav as they’re pretty different formulas. I just updated the blog post as so many people asked – see below!

      I’ve gotten a lot of questions asking how this compares to the KOSAS Tinted Face Oil. Coverage wise they are very very similar, but consistency wise they’re quite different. The KOSAS product is an oil, so it’s much “thicker,” and very hydrating. This doesn’t have any skincare in it; it’s really just a tint! I hope that helps. Also, this one has SPF!

  8. Cutest packaging ever! I want to try this… wonder if I can get it in Hong Kong…

    Charmaine Ng | Architecture & Lifestyle Blog
    http://charmainenyw.com

  9. Mallory says 2.21.20

    Do you feel like it blocks redness?

    • grace at the stripe says 2.23.20

      Yes! But only mild redness. I have broken capillaries around my nose and put concealer there before using this!

  10. Meredith Lunsford says 2.28.20

    Hi Grace! Thanks for continuing to provide us all with great reviews! I’m wondering, Milk Makeup products appear to be “clean” but they don’t have the sephora clean stamp of approval. Any chance you know why and/or what exactly is preventing it from that official designation? Thanks so much in advance!

    • Hi! I know, I saw that too. Milk is not a clean brand which bums me out but I try to be 80/20 in my routine. I am not sure what ingredient makes it not pass Sephora’s clean standards!!! If you’re looking for a clean product that’s similar I’d give the new Ilia skin tint a try. It’s heavier than this product but that’s because it contains a mineral SPF too.