Kopari Charcoal Deodorant Review!

Kopari Charcoal Deodorant Review by The Stripe

I know some of you were having natural deodorant fatigue and I’m sorry, but it has been a long time since I’ve talked about it (over a year!), and I just tried a new(ish) one that I really love. I’m very passionate about natural deodorant. I say that semi joking, but it can be SO hard to find a good one! I’ve talked about this at length here before but traditional deodorants have a lot of bad stuff in them so I will only use natural deodorant. Over the years I’ve tried so many and they realllllly range in effectiveness.

There are a lot of good ones, but there are also a lot of bad ones. I have personally found that charcoal deodorants are really, really effective. I have talked about that at length in this post. What makes charcoal so effective is that it’s highly porous so it absorbs bacteria and toxins (it’s said to absorb 100-200x) its weight in impurities.

I’ve been a big fan of the original Kopari deodorant (especially for summer as the formula is so sheer and lightweight but is a deodorant that actually works), and was naturally very excited to try out the new charcoal formula. Spoiler alert: I ended up liking it even more than the original! (You can read my review of the original here, if you’d like.)

Kopari Charcoal Deodorant Review

The Ingredients

First of all, I like that this is a clean formula. It passes Sephora’s clean standards. And while I’m 80/20 in my beauty routine there are certain products where I won’t deviate. (Mostly deodorant and sunscreen). This is an aluminum and baking soda free deodorant. I will not use aluminum as there’s a lot of scary research linking it to breast cancer and Alzheimer’s. I don’t care if it’s completely proven or the FDA still allows it, I’m not going to chance it! Baking soda  I am personally fine with, but I know it causes irritation for a lot of people.

Coconut oil is in all of Kopari’s products, and it’s great because it nourishes and hydrates sensitive skin. And of course the charcoal, which absorbs impurities making the deodorant extra effective. Lastly, it contains a plant based active formula which provide odor protection while warding off the bacteria which causes odor.

What are the benefits of charcoal for skin?

Charcoal is great for your skin as it’s so porous and absorbs impurities. It acts like a magnet to draw out toxins. (I also love a good charcoal bath soak!)

The Texture

The texture of this deodorant (and the original) is one of my favorite things. It glides on smooth and is very sheer; but it’s still highly effective.

Does it Work?

YES. 100%. This is Tracy Anderson workout approved (you’ve seen the photos; I sweat like a maniac and still smell fresh afterward), and it really works with your body for odor protection. This is my current favorite deodorant. I like it more than the Schmidt’s charcoal deodorant. Both are really effective, but this one is more sheer whereas the Schmidt’s one is a little creamier. Not a big deal but every now and then the Schmidt’s one would get a little bit goopy if I wasn’t careful.

I will say that I do tend to rotate my deodorants (is that weird? It’s really just based on my mood/the fragrance!) and also really like the Vapour one (though it’s so expensive) and Agent Nateur (also expensive), and of course good old  Schmidt’s which is only $5 at Target.Kopari Charcoal Deodorant Review by The Stripe Kopari Charcoal Deodorant

photography by Carter Fish.

Leave a Comment

Comments

  1. Haha, I’m definitely not tired of the natural deodorant talk, since it’s something I’m interested in as well. Thanks for trying so many brands for us! 🙂

    Charmaine Ng | Architecture & Lifestyle Blog
    http://charmainenyw.com

  2. Brianna says 7.18.19

    Does this stain your clothes? I find the Schmidt’s charcoal one can leave behind some color which isn’t ideal!

    I’ve been using the Love, Beauty, Planet from Target and so far, it’s holding up well as goes on super smooth. I also mix mine up, aka I always buy a new one each time I hit target!

    • grace at the stripe says 7.18.19

      No it doesn’t!!! I find this one to be reallllllly sheer which I like.

    • Katie says 7.18.19

      I love the smell and sheerness of Kopari, but I use it as more of a winter deodorant when I don’t sweat as much because I don’t think it’s that effective. I also have to rotate deodorants because this one dries out my skin and it can get flaky! Have yet to find a perfect natural deodorant…sigh!

      • grace at the stripe says 7.18.19

        Oh that is so interesting because I use Kopari in the summer and like something “thicker” or creamier like Vapour during winter!

  3. Shibani says 7.18.19

    I’ve been wondering about this especially since I’ve been served up so many ads for their new scent! Thanks for the review.
    ❤️

    • grace at the stripe says 7.18.19

      In all honestly I don’t really notice much of a difference between the scents (I was excited about that, too) BUT the charcoal one definitely works the best!!!

  4. Megan says 7.18.19

    Interesting! I just might have to try this. I had a bad experience with the Lavanila natural deodorant a few years ago (my skin did NOT like the baking soda and I got a terrible rash) and went back to using traditional deodorant. But I think I’ve recovered from that enough to try something new!

    • grace at the stripe says 7.18.19

      Oh no! If you don’t like baking soda I would suggest this one. Two other ones that (don’t work for me personally but body chemistry is so different) that everyone loves are the Megababe deodorant (she just launched a new one called Sunny Pits which smells so good!) and Follain’s natural deodorant!

  5. Keira says 7.18.19

    I’m always on board with a good natural deodorant recommendation! I’ve had so much trial and error trying to find the best ones; I always go back to Lavanila. Baking soda hates my armpits, so that knocks a lot of natural formulas out of the running. I’ll definitely give this one a try!

    • grace at the stripe says 7.18.19

      Ahhh interesting! I LOVE the fragrances Lavanila makes but it doesn’t work for me!!!!

  6. Sarah says 7.18.19

    I have tried (and broken out in rashes) several natural deodorants. Kopari is the only one that doesn’t irritate and truly does work, for me, at least.

    I can’t wait to try the Charcoal one – thanks for the review!

  7. Lauren says 7.18.19

    If you don’t use aluminum deodorant because it may be linked to breast cancer, why do you do sponsorships promoting alcohol? Alcohol is a carcinogen and the studies show there is a direct link between alcohol and breast cancer in women. Why would you chance that?

    • grace at the stripe says 7.18.19

      Hey Lauren, I guess it’s because in the scheme of things I really enjoy a cocktail or a glass of wine whereas switching deodorant is such an easy thing to do (as long as it is effective). Going without alcohol would feel like a huge sacrifice whereas switching deodorants is a tiny thing that makes a big difference. To each their own!

    • cy says 7.18.19

      Actually some alcohol can be good for cancer patients ( colon cancer survivor here), like red wine because of the resveratrol. 🙂

  8. Shirley says 7.18.19

    Grace-have you tried/reviewed megababes deodorant? I tried Vapour and Kopari per your recommendations but it turns out that baking soda makes me break out in a terrible rash. Megababe is the only natural deodorant I’ve tried that keeps me rash free and smelling fresh! I know you are friends with Katie Sturino so not sure if that would be a conflict of interest but her product(s) works SO well!! I’m obsessed with all her products 🙂

    • grace at the stripe says 7.18.19

      I have tried it and am so sad because it doesn’t work for me!!! I love Katie and her brand and all I want is to love it but body chemistry is so funny like that! I know a lot of people use and absolutely LOVE it.

  9. cy says 7.18.19

    I currently use the Schmidt’s which I think is really good, but as you say a bit messy. I did not find the Kopari regular effective, but love the formula, so I’m eager to try the charcoal one. I do love several other products from Kopari.

  10. Amy says 7.18.19

    “I will not use aluminum as there’s a lot of scary research linking it to breast cancer and Alzheimer’s.”
    I’m glad you’re happy with your deodorant. I’m happy with mine as well, which has the max non-“clean” ingredients to block as many sweat pores as possible.
    It’s not true that antiperspirants have been linked to breast cancer and Alzheimer disease. Here’s a layperson article about both from Scientific American, and information from National Cancer Instituate.
    https://www.scientificamerican.com/article/fact-or-fiction-antiperspants-do-more-than-block-sweat/
    https://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/causes-prevention/risk/myths/antiperspirants-fact-sheet

  11. Lauren says 7.18.19

    Hi Cy,

    My comment was directed toward breast cancer since that’s the type aluminum deodorants are linked to.

    As a long time reader of Grace’s blog, I look forward to seeing your responses in the comment section. You always add something valuable to the conversation! Xoxo

  12. Becky says 7.18.19

    Have you thought about Miradry? I want to do it so bad! Then you wouldn’t have to worry about aluminum!

  13. Lisa Autumn says 7.19.19

    Girl I can’t have enough of natural deodorant posts as I am yet to find the right one for me 🙂

    x Lisa | lisaautumn.com

  14. Katie says 7.19.19

    Have you tried the Primal Pit Paste charcoal deodorant? It’s not the prettiest brand lol but theirs is the only stuff that actually works for me. I got a little sample size of the seaside one the other day and it smells AMAZING.

    • grace at the stripe says 7.19.19

      I did but I didn’t get too far… too messsy for me!!! I’m admittedly a bit of a packaging snob. I can’t do the jar (hate reaching in, the paste gets in my nails) and the stick was too messy!

  15. Victoria Owens says 7.19.19

    Try the Native charcoal & magnesium. Smells great & works really well!

    • grace at the stripe says 7.19.19

      I didn’t like Native! I feel like I am the only one, but it didn’t work for me!

  16. Gina says 7.22.19

    I know I’m a few days late but I just wanted to say I am a Kopari Charcoal deodorant evangelist too!! And I owe it all to you- you were the influencer who finally inspired me to try the original formula of the brand last year, and I loved everything about it: the scent, the moisturizing component as someone who gets irritated easily there, AND that it actually keeps you from smelling bad. When I went to order a refill a few months ago, I apparently accidentally ordered the new charcoal formula but decided to try it- and it works even better! And I am v pregnant which can bring out the b.o. at a time when I actually care even more about trying to stick with clean ingredients so if it’s working for me now, in this insane heat, I know it really works. (In my last pregnancy, my husband had to tactfully tell me that my natural deodorant wasn’t really doing its job and perhaps I should reconsider…). I do think the original scent smells “better”, or rather the charcoal just doesn’t have much of a scent, so if that is important to someone then be aware, but otherwise I can’t say enough positive things about it. Thanks for introducing me to this great brand!

  17. Stephanie says 8.30.19

    Found this helpful, but I do have one question. I accidentally purchased the kopari charcoal deodorant, which is the scent driftwood. Is this the same one you are reviewing? The driftwood scent? Thanks for your help!