Kopari Deodorant Review.

Kopari Coconut Deodorant

Updated 9.26.18: Take 25% off at Kopari with code THESTRIPE25!

I don’t know about you but (a rather annoying) thing I’ve had happen since switching to using only natural deodorants a few years ago is that I’ll find that suddenly my favorite natural deodorants will stop working after a little while. I will have to switch it up from time to time and then I can go back to my old favorite a few months later. Weird!

For a long time, I was really really into Agent Nateur. Then I moved onto the Vapour Palo Santo (still the best smelling deodorant I’ve tried). And then I was all about activated charcoal deodorant. These all worked for a time but a few weeks ago suddenly everything stopped working and I didn’t smell so great.

I consulted a few of my girlfriends about this little problem and everyone had thoughts. One said that natural deodorants are kind of like shampoo… you have to switch ’em up from time to time (and can go back to your old favorite later on). Another recommended Kopari, which I ordered immediately. And yet another recommended doing an actual armpit detox where you apply a homemade mask to your armpits every night – I’m considering trying this, too, just for fun/blog research purposes. (Have you tried one?)

Coconut Deodorant

Kopari Coconut Deodorant

I have been testing the Kopari deodorant for the past two+ weeks.

How did it do? I actually really, really love it. I say actually as I was a little bit surprised because it’s got a thinner/clear texture (all of my other favorites have been more creamy) but it works really well. It’s made from coconut oil so it glides on (it’s not at all sticky) and is super hydrating. I can put it on in the morning and go a full 24 hours without any stink. It lasted through my redeye flight to Morocco, and also a day at the markets (it was 96 degrees!)

I will say that it did not pass the infrared pilates test (I don’t remember the last time I sweated so much!) but in every other occasion it has been great.

So I guess my strategy going forward is going to be to switch things up from time to time, but in the meantime I love this one.

Kopari Coconut Deodorant

PS – Only because someone always asks whenever I write about natural deodorants – yes I’ve tried Native – and I didn’t like it!

Leave a Comment

Comments

  1. It’s great to know that the deodorant worked for you! I’m definitely checking out the brand, then. I’ve been on and off about natural deodorant and I think it’s time to finally commit for good. 🙂

    Charmaine Ng | Architecture & Lifestyle Blog
    http://charmainenyw.com

  2. Shen says 8.31.18

    I have this issue too with natural deodorants that suddenly stop working AND I am sensitive to baking soda which is a bummer because formulations with it are so effective! I have been occasionally swiping Pixi Glow tonic uner my arms before applying deodorant and that seems to fix the issue of deodorant suddenly stop working! The acids in it seem to kill the odor causing bacteria under your arms. Probably any product with glycolic acid would do the trick.

  3. Emily B. says 8.31.18

    I was not a fan of Native either! And good to know about switching. I’ve still got a couple on my list that you’ve recommended that I still haven’t tried, but currently using Schmidt’s just because they stock it at my local Target. I think the Vapour Palo Santo will be my next buy!

    • So glad I’m not the only one! I literally have to caveat it or I will get a million comments saying to try Native. I was so excited to try it; but it did NOT work for me haha.

    • Suzi says 12.27.18

      The shmitdts works so well but I just may be very sensitive to the soda in it because it started to peel layers of my skin as if I was sunburned.. loved the smell free aspect but not at that cost.. I’m currently trying Kopari. I’ve got to say that I’m very happy so far.. day (3)..

  4. Meredith says 8.31.18

    Hi Grace! Thanks for this review. I’m a huge fan of Kopari as a brand (the coconut melt is a staple of mine), and have been wanting to try their deodorant. One question – do you find that the oil stains your clothes? That’s my one reservation about trying it – especially since a lot of my wardrobe is white/light colored.

  5. allie says 8.31.18

    Kopari is my favorite so far!! i like Primally Pure too (and I just love their mission and business in general) but I love how Kopari feels going on. I hate how most natural deodorants make me feel sticky.

    Allie
    modbroadco.com

    • Everyone keeps saying such good things about Primally Pure – have to check them out! x

  6. Lynn-Holly Wielenga says 8.31.18

    haha it’s nice to read an honest review about natural deodorant! I still use regular, not natural, I’m sure not great for me deodorant. I’m nervous about how a natural deodorant will hold up in this hot weather and/or in a hot yoga class! But maybe I’ll give this one a try… 🙂

  7. BSDH says 8.31.18

    I’ve been meaning to send you a message about this but keep forgetting. Another friend of mine gave me a tip on natural deodorants. They work best after a little acid is applied to your armpits. She advised wiping a Stridex pad (red box, alcohol-free) on your underarms, let it dry a bit, then apply the deodorant. OMG it works like a charm!! And I’m in the swamp in FL. I’ve been doing that and just using Tom’s (lavender obv). No smell. Without it, I was a little … ripe.

    Try it and let me know!

    • MarciaMarciaMarcia says 8.31.18

      I actually came here to recommend this! I started using Stridex pads a few months ago – it kills all the bad bacteria so there’s no stink for the deodorant to cover. I don’t even use deodorant at all anymore! I read that all kinds of AHAs and BHAs can work, but Stridex pads are so cheap I tried those first and they work so well I see no need to spend more money. I have read that this doesn’t work for everyone, but it’s been amazing for me … I don’t live in the Florida swamp, but I do live in Austin, TX, where it’s HOT, and I’m an athlete who’s outside doing stuff all the time, and I never stink anymore.

    • This is so interesting, I am def going to try!!! I’m too stinky for Tom’s haha, I love their products but cannot use the deodorant!

  8. Dana says 8.31.18

    Hi Grace! I really like the Kopari too. I’m super sensitive to many of the natural ones so I’ve tried many in an effort to find the ones that work for me. Native, Vapour Beauty, Type A and some others I can’t even recall didn’t work. I would get big red rashes that lasted several days to a week even after stopping use. A couple others for you to try down the line… Lume (I just got mine three days ago but so far I’m impressed), Megababe (rolls on well like the Kopari but more fragranced; I personally like the scent but may not work for some), and Primally Pure Charcoal Deodorant (haven’t tried but is on my list).

  9. Cy says 8.31.18

    I’m currently using the Schmidts charcoal,( read your post) I really like the scent, just finished their bergamot lime. I liked the Agent Natuer Rose, but didn’t think their regular scent worked as well. I also sometimes swipe my arm pits with the Pixi Glow tonic beforehand and that seems to work great. Didn’t you have something about that in a post? I read somewhere to use Stridex pads, they are less expensive and do the same thing. I’m looking forward to trying the Kopari, I haven’t tried any of the products yet and really want to! I always enjoy your recommendations.

  10. Stephanie Powers says 8.31.18

    I have made the switch and really so feel they work however the natural deodorants (currently Schmidt’s) have been leaving more of a yellow stain on my shirts. Have you had that happen as well?

    • I haven’t! There was a discussion about this in our Facebook group a few weeks ago and a lot of people said Schmidt’s stained for them. It didn’t for me but I use the charcoal one. I think maybe try a clear or white formula; the Kopari one is totally clear so I can’t imagine it would stain.

  11. Samantha says 9.3.18

    Thanks Grace for posting about this and natural deodorants in general. I’ve been following your recommendations because I trust that you’re providing your honest opinion, so thanks! Do you use different deodorant specifically for sweatier activities? It so, would be curious to know which product you use for this purpose.

    • I don’t, but I would say that the Kopari and Vapour are probably the most sweat friendly.

  12. Jenell says 10.15.18

    I stumbled across ur blog when researching Kopari Deo. I’m currently using Honestly pHresh and I LOVE it. I definitely would recommend it

  13. Tammy Buffington says 10.18.18

    I absolutely LOVED the smell of this natural deodorant. I was so excited to use it. Once I put it on, unfortunately, it burned my arm pits so bad I had to stop using it immediately. I read the ingredients and did not see baking soda in it so I was surprised by my reaction to this lovely deodorant. Does anyone have an idea why I may have broken out in a burning rash under my pits using Kopari? Has anyone else had a similar situation happen to them with this deodorant?

    • grace at the stripe says 10.18.18

      Oh no, I’m so sorry to hear you had that experience! I personally found this one to be so mild!

  14. Dedra says 12.9.18

    What is the detox stage about?

  15. Rachel says 2.13.19

    I got an awful rash from Kopari. I was actually liking it, but into day two, I realized I had awful huge red bumps in my pits. One side got lucky and only had one bump, but my other pit really made up for it. I’m not sure what the problem is. But I’m bummed.

  16. Michaela says 7.26.19

    Love the recs, but honestly — it’s not sexy, but a $4.99 Thai crystal (I buy Crystal brand and it lasts ages) does the trick for me. Unscented, so sometimes I’ll layer it, since I do like a bit of scent, but when I’m on a tight budget, this is both no-frills and the most effective natural deodorant I’ve ever used (and I SWEAT).

    • grace at the stripe says 7.26.19

      UGH I tried the crystal and it did not work for me!!!! SO SAD. Though Schmidt’s works for me and that’s around the same price if you get it at Target. Really wanted to love the crystal as I thought it was cool (and cheap!) Thanks for chiming in!!!!

  17. Valerie Ann says 11.6.19

    Which Kopari deodorant sent did you try?