Supergoop Glowscreen Review!

illuminator/SPF/Primer

I have been seeing Supergoop Glowscreen ALL over my Instagram feed and everyone is talking about it (beauty editors! makeup artists! bloggers! regular friends who have no skin in the game!) and for good reason – this is one of the best products I’ve tried in ages!

It’s a hybrid illuminator/SPF/Primer and just magical. I’ve posted a photo below of me wearing the product (and no other makeup), and I just can’t get over how pretty it is. I am probably going to say “pretty” a lot in this post, but that’s what it is… it’s just a pretty prodcuct (while also protecting your skin!)

Supergoop Glowscreen Review

What is Supergoop Glowscreeen?

This product is an SPF primer with a pearlescent finish for a gorgeous, dewy glow. If you are not familiar with primers, a primer is the step between skincare and makeup. Primers make your makeup go on smoother and last longer. (This is when you’d apply SPF anyway!) It has SPF40 and also protects against blue light.

It has a slight tint but it sinks in immediately. All that is left behind is that shimmery, slightly pearlescent finish. It works universally on all skin tones… from very light to very deep!

How to Use it!

You can do a few different things. Apply it after moisturizing… before foundation, concealer, etc. Or (like in the photo below), you can skip makeup altogether and just let the light reflecting particles do their work. If you want to wear it under makeup, you’ll have just the slightest glow and your skin looks like you have a real life instagram filter.

If you wear it alone (like below), you’ll be glowy and radiant but very natural. This is my favorite way to wear it to be honest; in my day to day I don’t love putting on foundation – this is just right! You could also mix it with your makeup (I’d recommend using a 50/50 ratio if you decide to do that!)

Supergoop Glowscreen Review

What does it smell like?

This was a question I got via DMs and I always feel like such a bad person to ask bc I don’t always notice the smells of products. But as I was writing this post I squeezed a bunch out and gave it a whiff. It smells very faintly of sunscreen but there’s no scent otherwise.

Is it irritating?

No, not at all. I don’t have sensitive skin but had no reactions to this product. My eyes can be sensitive and had no reaction either.

Is it Clean? Reef Safe?

The formula meets Sephora’s clean standards! And yes, it is reef safe. I will point out that it’s a clean CHEMICAL sunscreen; and not a mineral sunscreen. A mineral sunscreen is typically free of chemicals and provides a physical barrier from the sun.

A clean chemical sunscreen still contains chemicals but it IS free from all of the chemicals that have been proven to be bad for you (i.e. oxybenzone, etc.) I really admire Supergoop in that any time a chemical is discovered to be bad, (octinoxate was the most recent one), they reformulate their products. They’re constantly working to understand what is safe and what is not and if there is even the slightest inkling that an ingredient they’re using is bad, they make a change.

It’s hard to say what to do. I generally go with a clean chemical SPF on my face as it won’t make me break out, it’s lightweight, and I can’t feel it so I won’t mind wearing it every day. But I still think the absolute safest sunscreen is probably mineral. The only mineral sunscreen I have found that I’ve liked on my face is Beautycounter. Dewskin has mineral SPF! Clean chemical sunscreens are a happy medium, IMO.

Supergoop Glowscreen Review Supergoop Glowscreen Supergoop Glowscreen

Photography by Carter Fish.

Leave a Comment

Comments

  1. Carly A Heitlinger says 3.11.20

    I keep trying to smell the sunscreen but maybe growing up in Florida has made me noseblind to it because I can’t smell anything Anyway…. LOVE this stuff!

    • grace at the stripe says 3.11.20

      I know, it’s VERY VERY faint. I don’t smell anything but think I’m also imumne to it hahahaha

  2. Lily says 3.11.20

    Okay, so I know they are not exactly the same type of product, but…I am thinking I am either going to pick up this or the Saie Glowy Super Gel – do you have a recommendation as to which one you prefer? I don’t currently have a sunscreen in my routine but one of my products has SPF 30 in it (although I know that isn’t the same as including a solo SPF). I don’t wear a lot of makeup and prefer to totally go without it whenever possible, so I’ve been looking for a product that will give me a very natural-looking glow, and I’m feeling like it has to be one of these two!! Any advice would be appreciated 🙂

    • grace at the stripe says 3.11.20

      I think (SPF aside) it depends how much glow you want. This one is more dramatic (dramatic isn’t the best word, you can see the photo) whereas Saie is more natural. With the Saie you could theoretically not be wearing any makeup… with this, people will know you have something on! (Not in a bad way, it’s just MORE of a glow!)

  3. It sounds like a really nice sunscreen! Thanks for the review, Grace! ❤️✨

    Charmaine Ng | Architecture & Lifestyle Blog
    http://charmainenyw.com

  4. Whitney says 3.11.20

    I have had this sitting in my sephora cart, and now may just need to buy it! Thanks as always Grace!

  5. Angie says 3.11.20

    I had another sunscreen by supergoop, but it would always make its way into my eyes and that shit burned. Have you had an issue with this stinging your eyes? Maybe I’m just putting it too close..

    • grace at the stripe says 3.11.20

      I think you might be putting it too close to your eyes! Supergoop has a special eye cream with SPF so I’d say avoid the eye area and then use the eye cream (which I am also loving, so far!)

  6. Andrea says 3.11.20

    How would you compare this to dewskin? Just curious!

    • grace at the stripe says 3.11.20

      hi! copying what I wrote to another reader!
      _
      Hi! Sooo they are really different. I wouldn’t say it’s an alternative, it’s different. Dew Skin is a tinted moisturizer and what I consider to be makeup (you need to buy your shade); and this is more of an illuminator / highlighter – one shade fits all. Dewskin will cover up redness etc and this won’t… it just leaves behind that pretty pearlescent shine!

      I don’t think you really need two SPF products so I’d probably do one or the other. Either this with a non-SPF tinted moisturizer over it (like the KOSAS face oil or Milk Skin Tint); OR Dew skin with another illuminator (like Saie or Charlotte Tilbury) will yield the same results. You could layer them both but it just feels like a lot to me.

      I personally prefer this to my everyday vs. Dew skin as I don’t like wearing face makeup if I am not seeing people, which as a self employed person happens a lot! If I have a meeting or something I will do Dew Skin (or another tinted moisturizer/skin tint) but most days now I just throw on this for SPF and a pretty glow!

      Long winded but hope that helps!

  7. Mary says 3.11.20

    How does this compare to Beauty counter dew skin? An alternative? Do you layer them? I really love Dew Skin but am intrigued by this… but if I love the Dew Skin maybe I don’t need it?

    • grace at the stripe says 3.11.20

      Hi! Sooo they are really different. I wouldn’t say it’s an alternative, it’s different. Dew Skin is a tinted moisturizer and what I consider to be makeup (you need to buy your shade); and this is more of an illuminator / highlighter – one shade fits all. Dewskin will cover up redness etc and this won’t… it just leaves behind that pretty pearlescent shine!

      I don’t think you really need two SPF products so I’d probably do one or the other. Either this with a non-SPF tinted moisturizer over it (like the KOSAS face oil or Milk Skin Tint); OR Dew skin with another illuminator (like Saie or Charlotte Tilbury) will yield the same results. You could layer them both but it just feels like a lot to me.

      I personally prefer this to my everyday vs. Dew skin as I don’t like wearing face makeup if I am not seeing people, which as a self employed person happens a lot! If I have a meeting or something I will do Dew Skin (or another tinted moisturizer/skin tint) but most days now I just throw on this for SPF and a pretty glow!

      Long winded but hope that helps!

      • Shana says 3.11.20

        Thank you for this add! I have and am loving the Kosas but was looking for layering since it doesn’t have SPF, much appreciated 🙂

        • grace at the stripe says 3.11.20

          I think this would work PERFECTLY with the Kosas!!!! You could probably even mix them together. 🙂

  8. Jennie says 3.11.20

    I ordered it after seeing your first insta story and its being delivered today – I can’t wait!

  9. Nicole Gossage Unland says 3.11.20

    I just ordered it from Revolve today and can’t wait to receive…thanks so much for sharing!

  10. Krista S. says 3.11.20

    Wondering… would you put your regular moisturizer over or under it? Thinking under, so the goop “sheen” won’t be covered?

  11. Rachael says 3.11.20

    I love supergoop sunscreens, and I use the glowscreen daily. However is not truely reefsafe. Glowscreen includes titanium dioxide in it. Titanium Dioxide does not biodegrade and is found to react in warm seawater to form hydrogen peroxide which is harmful to all sea life.

    • grace at the stripe says 3.12.20

      Thanks for flagging, I will check w/the brand!

    • grace at the stripe says 3.12.20

      Hey! I emailed the brand and just wanted to share their response:

      Currently, there is no no standard definition or testing to determine what is reef safe. However, the ingredients that have been most commonly identified are Oxybenzone and Octinoxate – these were the two ingredients banned in Hawaii most recently. We have never used Oxybenzone and recently removed Octinoxate from our formulas. Titanium Dioxide is more commonly considered to be be reef safe however, if you do not feel comfortable using a formula with this ingredient we recommend Unseen Sunscreen (also an SPF-spiked primer but with a more natural finish).

  12. Sandra says 3.12.20

    Hi, great product!
    I was just wondering if we can use it also for the summertime?
    Thanks
    Sandra

  13. Ailsa says 3.12.20

    Does the tint work on all skin colors? I know it goes on glowy, but I am curious if it leaves any sort of color residue. I don’t wear foundation, so that’s why I’m asking, thank you.

    • grace at the stripe says 3.12.20

      Yes, it works for all skin types. No color residue just a pretty pearlescent finish.

  14. Ling says 3.12.20

    Hi! I bought this product after you mentioned it on stories and I LOVED IT except…it has avobenzone listed as a main ingredient on the supergoop! website which as I understand is neither clean nor reef safe Please tell me Im wrong so I can keep using this product

    • grace at the stripe says 3.12.20

      Hey Ling,
      I’ll check with the brand!

    • grace at the stripe says 3.12.20

      Hey Ling,
      See response from the brand!

      Avobenzone is a globally approved UV filter and the only chemical sunscreen active that provides broad UVA protection approved by the FDA. Avobenzone is considered reef safe (the chemical ingredients that put our reefs at risk Oxybenzone and Octinoxate, neither of which are used in any of our formulas).

  15. Jessica says 3.12.20

    If you needed to use a green primer for redness would you use Glowscreen before or after??

  16. Eva Ongeri says 3.12.20

    How does it compare with Barbara Strum Glow Drops, which I really like?

    • grace at the stripe says 3.12.20

      Hey – I haven’t tried those! They seem like a different product but can’t personally speak to any sort of experience!

  17. Allie says 3.12.20

    Thank you for your honest, realistic review. I so trust your beauty reviews and bought this at Sephora – it’s an amazing product! Thanks for being one of the most genuine, approachable bloggers I follow 🙂

  18. Emily Quadrino says 3.12.20

    Hi Grace!

    Thoughts on this vs. Saie Glowy Gel? Got my eye on both thanks to you but wondering if they have similar end effect – minus the SPF of course which I know only Glow Screen has. Which would you recommend?

    Thanks!
    Emily

    • grace at the stripe says 3.12.20

      Copying my response from a previous comment! A few of you have asked this same q!
      _

      I think (SPF aside) it depends how much glow you want. This one is more dramatic (dramatic isn’t the best word, you can see the photo) whereas Saie is more natural. With the Saie you could theoretically not be wearing any makeup… with this, people will know you have something on! (Not in a bad way, it’s just MORE of a glow!)

  19. Erin says 3.17.20

    Bought this sight unseen purely on your recommendation! And, as expected, I was not disappointed. Thank you for the thorough review! So glad Supergoop went clean (chemically clean?) with this one.

    I typically use the Skinceuticals Sheer Physical UV defense, but I don’t always love the way it feels. This is a nice change!