January 2019 in Review.

January 2019 in Review - Green Dress

I can’t believe we are already 1/12 of the way into 2019! January was a really nice month for me. I didn’t go anywhere except Charleston to see my parents and Minnesota at the very end of the month, and I felt like my life actually took on some sort of semblance of order. (I’m someone who loves routine and order!) I did a lot of reading – GOOD reading (see also, yesterday’s post!), and also attempted to bring a bit more structure to the blog. I’m trying to make a Youtube video every week, have a beauty post every week, and make every Friday an essay style post, which has been fun.

THIS MONTH’S TOP 5 BLOG POSTS!

one // Buying Your First Chanel Bag.

I had no idea this post would be as popular as it was! It made me remember; I want to do a similar post with shoes. I’ll get that up for you this month. I’m really glad you guys enjoyed this post and I LOVED reading your comments – if you ask me, your advice was even better than mine!

two // Endings.

I’m really glad this post resonated so well with so many of you as it was hard to write and to be totally honest, I didn’t really want to write it. I had made the mistake of showing my (now) ex on my instagram stories/mentioning him here and then I had to deal with the consequences when it ended. It’s really hard; I want to share my day to day with you and oftentimes that involves dating someone. But if it doesn’t work out then I feel like I have to give this whole big explanation. It’s just one of the consequences of living a semi-public life – you get swept up and things are great and then they aren’t and you have to address it! I’ll probably wait longer next time around, I don’t know. I guess you never know though – even if you are in love with someone it can still end! Nothing is ever really certain and it’s times like these when I wish I were one of those bloggers with a husband and a more conventional life and this weren’t such a hot topic.

three // My favorite products from 2018.

I’m glad you guys liked this one, too! Unlike my month/year in review posts, this was not analytics based… it was just the stuff I personally liked the most. So many winners from this past year… products that made my life better and easier!

four // This Month’s Best Target Finds.

This column is always a favorite and it makes me very very happy that we can talk about both Target and Chanel here – life is about balance, right?

five // Facial Gua Sha Benefits.

My newest obsession! I’d love to hear from you if you gave it a try… I think it’s MUCH more effective than the jade roller. The jade roller feels nice but this kills puffiness and can actually help with fine lines long-term, if you do it every day.

TOP 10 BEST SELLING PRODUCTS // JANUARY 2019 IN REVIEW

TOP 10 BEST SELLING PRODUCTS // JANUARY 2019 IN REVIEW

Here are the things you bought the most of, this month!

one // Topshop Tan Checked Coat.

I love this coat and am so sad that it got bad reviews on the Nordstrom website! It’s not the warmest coat you’ll ever own, but with a sweater and a scarf it’s perfect for more mild winter days and I get SO many compliments on it. So chic. I can’t recommend it enough, ignore the reviews!

two // Topshop Black & White Checked Coat.

I was definitely on a plaid coat mission last month and bought this one + the tan one and love them both. In all honesty I prefer the tan one to this but I like having a black and white option too, and this one is a little bit warmer!

three // Indie Lee Purifying Face Wash.

This is one of the best face washes I’ve tried in a while. I like to use it after a cleansing balm (this one!) for the perfect double cleanse. Oil cleanser + gel cleanser = heaven. Anyway, I love this brand (we’re actually having Indie on the podcast this Spring!) and was excited to see that you guys are into it as well.

four // Augustinus Bader The Rich Cream.

YAY. All aboard the Dr. Bader bandwagon. This is my hands down favorite anti-aging cream around… it will change your skin. I couldn’t recommend it more; read my review here! Random aside; I met a reader who told me it’s been amazing for her acne scars. Who knew – that’s cool!

five // Cable Stitch Tan Mock Neck Sweater

This was an Amazon FIND! I love it so much. It looks like Acne. I just recommend sizing down. I am usually a small or a medium in sweaters and got a medium in this and wish I sized down – it’s pretty big (though the bigness makes it very cozy).

six // Gucci Soho Disco Bag.

I actually have no idea how this ranked so well this month; I’ve worn it in a few recent outfit posts and linked to it in a travel post but I’m glad it ranked as it’s a great bag! I bought mine six years ago and still get a lot of wear out of it; especially when I’m traveling (it’s the perfect size!).

seven // Topshop Frame Bag.

I don’t actually own this bag (I linked to it in a weekend reading post), but I think I may need to. It’s such a good size and perfect for parties.

eight // Lioness Blazer.

Love love love this jacket. It comes in a bunch of varieties (all linked in the widget below), but my favorite is the army green.

nine // Gravity Blanket.

Every time I check analytics and see that another one of you bought a gravity blanket I get so happy as I love mine so much! For the full scoop on why the gravity blanket is so awesome, read this post!

ten // Madewell Courier Shirt

This is my favorite white shirt. It’s so flattering and easy to wear… it’s just the best and definitely a wardrobe MVP. I love that I can throw it in the washer/dryer too.

Leave a Comment

Comments

  1. Great round up! You have the best posts, Grace. Your Chanel post in particular was super helpful to me – I really hope to get one for myself in the future! 🙂 Looking forward to more great content in February! ❤️✨

    Charmaine Ng | Architecture & Lifestyle Blog
    http://charmainenyw.com

  2. Katie says 2.6.19

    Love this post! Didn’t you travel down to Charleston last month? Or was that back in December?

    • Oh you are right! I forgot, haha. I guess it didn’t feel like a trip as I was hanging with my parents the whole time. 😉

  3. Shana says 2.6.19

    I’m so excited for the shoe post!! If you haven’t finished it can you throw in a few suggestions on heel height differences when you are considering a longer term buy? Maybe this is only a struggle for me when considering an investment purchase 🙂 There is the height for making your legs look their best, most comfortable longer wearing height, etc. January had lots of great posts!

  4. Marta says 2.6.19

    Honestly, sometimes the success of a blog post isn’t only about the content. I, for instance, sometimes read your posts even if the topic doesn’t really interest me because I feel like I can always learn something and I really like to read your posts, I like the way you write and the things you say and your personality (which can seem hard to tell in writing and many bloggers struggle with it but I can definitely see it) and I’ve been enjoying your YouTube videos as well, keep up the good work.

  5. Mollye says 2.6.19

    Grace,
    I’m always a fan of your product recommendations. I’m very intrigued by the Augustinus Bader cream but I’m a pretty loyal La Mer user. I know from your posts that you’ve used both. Can you weigh in on the differences?

    Thanks, Mollye

    • I think that the Dr. Bader Rich Cream is very similar to the La Mer in terms of consistency (that really rich, creamy emollient feeling) and hydration (they both lock in moisture all day long).

      I am not a derm but I find the Dr. Bader to be more high tech. His story is amazing (the way he initially started out treating burn victims), and I think there is a lot more science behind it. It’s definitely changed the texture of my skin (besides being more hydrated etc like with La Mer) which is big for me. I would suggest purchasing the smallest size of the Dr. Bader Rich Cream (if you use classic La Mer; get the regular cream if you usually use La Mer’s soft cream) and seeing if you notice a difference in texture/fine lines. I did!

  6. Lisa says 2.7.19

    Love your month in review posts – such a cool thing! That white top looks so chic and comfy, been needing a white shirt MVP for awhile now!

    Oh man, I’m sorry to hear about your #2 top January post. I think I might have commented previously that you can still talk about your personal/dating life without going into specifics, and I was so happy when you did! Felt much closer to you. I know it’s hard being a semi-public figure and feeling like you have to explain certain things (like when your relationship ended) but personally, I don’t think you have to go into detail! Just mention in passing something casual like, ‘my last relationship ended’ or whatever you’re comfortable with. And a BIG part of your appeal, Grace, is your relate-ability and the fact that your life isn’t “perfect”. Honestly, so many bloggers these days have their husbands/boyfriends take the photos, their lives seem so perfect, that I don’t even really read their blogs. Perfection is so BORING! I don’t know. It’s much more interesting reading a blog who is relatable, like we’re figuring out life together. (Anyhow, you probably won’t listen to my “suggestions” about this topic anymore LOL). 😀

    Have a great week! Thank you for sharing so authentically your life with us – the ups, downs and in betweens!

    XO,
    Lisa
    http://www.theeverydayelevated.com

  7. Lisa Simpson says 2.8.19

    Grace- Stop posting these great TOP SHOP coats, my closet cannot handle any more! (joking) 😉