Dr. Barbara Sturm Hyaluronic Serum.

Dr. Barbara Sturm Hyaluronic Serum

Hyaluronic acid is one of the buzziest ingredients right now. Why? It’s AMAZING for delivering a shot of moisture to the skin and reducing fine lines (it hydrates the skin immediately). As someone who travels a lot, has dry skin to begin with, and is starting to see more noticeable signs of aging, I had been curious about this power ingredient for a while.

Dr. Barbara Sturm Hyaluronic Serum

For my latest project with Sephora, they wanted to pair me with one of their powerful derm solutions products. I gave them my biggest skincare concerns (dryness, loss of firmness, fine lines), and they paired me with Dr. Barbara Sturm’s Hyaluronic Serum.

What makes this serum different?

This product is a splurge – I want to acknowledge that. This serum is for someone with dry skin who wants a really high tech serum and potent hydration.

The key ingredients in this serum are hyaluronic acid + purslane. It contains both long chain and short chain hyaluronic acid molecules. The long chain molecules provide intensive hydration to the surface, refreshing it immediately. The short chain molecules replenish moisture long term.

Purslane is the other power ingredient that differentiates this serum from other HA serums (there are a lot of them!) It’s a strong antioxidant that stimulates the body and supports skin rejuvenation. I loved this article where Dr. Sturm raved about this ingredient in particular, calling it the “fountain of youth enzyme.” It’s also one of the richest sources on earth of earth of omega-3 fatty acids, a-linolenic acid, and antioxidants.

How to use it?

I use Dr. Barbara Sturm Hyaluronic Serum in a few different ways. I have been using it as my daytime serum and I like how refreshing it is. It’s very lightweight and absorbs into my skin immediately. It reduces the look of fine lines caused by dehydration (incredible if you are traveling a lot or had that second cocktail the night before). It’s definitely a godsend for someone who travels a lot.

I also love applying it on the plane. For a long flight I will skip makeup. Once we’re in the air I’ll refresh my skin with toner or a face mist, massage in a few drops of this serum, and then lock it in with a thick creamy moisturizer or moisture mask.

It’s important to note that this is a serum and not a moisturizer. While it delivers a jolt of moisture to your skin, you need to apply moisturizer (or face oil) afterward to lock in the benefits.

Dr. Barbara Sturm Hyaluronic Serum review

A bit more about Dr. Sturm

Dr. Sturm is a world renowned aesthetics doctor who has become sought after for her non-surgical treatments that tackle the signs of aging. She makes luxury beauty products known to target the look of skin renewal, in particular. The ingredients and technology are always cutting edge. She’s also an avid traveler (I loved her interview with Travel & Leisure). I haven’t tried very many of her products (yet) but I have tried the Enzyme Cleanser and really liked that. (It’s a powder, which makes it great for travel!)

My Personal Experience with this product

As someone with very dry skin I notice a big difference using Dr Sturm’s Hyaluronic Serum. With regular use over the past 5-6 weeks, I’ve noticed that the fine lines on my forehead are less visible. I also love it in the morning. Something I’ve noticed probably since turning 35 is that my “morning face” needs about an hour to wake up, especially if I ended up sleeping on my stomach. Pillow creases and fine lines are so much more visible and if I don’t do my skincare routine as soon as I wake up, they’ll hang around for hours!

This really helps with that! I’ve talked a lot about my morning routine but I’ll splash my face with water, tone, and apply this serum and then moisturizer. This serum plumps up your skin big time, waking things up and reducing the look of those fine lines.

Hyaluronic Serum Dr. Barbara Sturm Hyaluronic Serum skincare product

Created in partnership with Sephora; photography by Carter Fish.

Leave a Comment

Comments

  1. Oh wow, now I’m interested! Dr Barbara Sturm is actually doing a collab with a hotel in Hong Kong right now – I know because I’ve been writing about it at my day job, haha – I’d love to try out her products for myself! 🙂

    Charmaine Ng | Architecture & Lifestyle Blog
    http://charmainenyw.com

  2. Christine says 10.9.19

    HA serums are the key to my heart! I also love the Skinceuticals H.A intensifier! Give me alllll the moisture!

  3. Sarah says 10.9.19

    Thanks for your review! Thoughts on all the bad reviews on Sephora.com?

    • grace at the stripe says 10.9.19

      I saw those. The reviews section for this product was interesting to read (I literally read every single one bc I was curious!!) It’s definitely a big mix of negative (mostly because of the price) and FANATICAL.

      Honestly, I think that most of the negative reviewers probably aren’t familiar with Dr. Sturm’s products and technology and balked at the price (which I 100% understand; this is a luxury product and it won’t be for everyone). I wasn’t sure myself which is why I spent a lot of time researching Dr. Sturm and Purslane specifically. Her products are really high tech and the quality of ingredients is the best of the best.

      It’s also not a moisturizer; if you only use the serum your skin will be dry (some of the reviews were complaining about that, but serum should never ever be the only step!) I think a lot of people were mad that they spent $300 on a serum but then they stopped at that step. You need a good oil or moisturizer (and can spend less on that step if you use this) to lock in the hyaluronic acid.

      • Sarah says 10.9.19

        Appreciate the response 🙂

        • grace at the stripe says 10.9.19

          of course! I read the reviews too (before testing the product + committing to the project) but at the end of the day the results speak for themselves; and when something is at a higher price point it’s more likely to get negative reviews.

  4. Jada says 10.9.19

    Thank you for sharing this post! It was really informative about this product and brand! I will for sure check this product out.

    https://thegirlfromconnecticut.com

  5. Katerina Pietri says 10.9.19

    Thanks for the review! I’ve been interested in this serum for a while and seen rave reviews from a couple of bloggers. I trust your judgment as we have similar skin types and this sounds right up my alley. It’s a splurge though I’m sure it’s amazing.
    I use Skinceuticals Feurulic vitamin C before moiturizer. Would you use the serum before or after this or just this? Thank you!

    • grace at the stripe says 10.9.19

      Hi Katerina,

      Ooh – that is a tough call. I personally would do the Ferlic CE first and THEN this. My rationale (and this is just my personal thought) is that the CE is a little more aggressive, whereas this is very hydrating so it will help to replenish moisture. I’d do that, the Hyaluronic, and then a moisturizer!

      Hope that’s helpful!

  6. Jen says 10.9.19

    Hi! Love your blog and always really do believe that your reviews are reliable and that you are selective with your partnerships because of your loyalty to your followers.

    I have to say I had a really bad experience with Dr. Sturm. Long story short, really terrible customer service, especially given the price tag. It is really turned me off of the brand entirely and I was so so excited about them.

    • grace at the stripe says 10.9.19

      I’m so sorry that happened to you? For what it’s worth, if you buy the products at Sephora, they have amazing customer service and a great return policy. Really sorry to hear that you had a bad experience. They are a great brand. 🙁

      • Jen says 10.9.19

        Just be careful with this since our only Sephora is in a JC Penny. It is a nightmare. They cannot take anything back without getting the JC Penny manager. That is not easy at all. I feel bad for the employees since they are stuck with the policy. It has caused me not to shop at Sephora. If we had a stand alone store I am sure it would be better but it is lacking due to their structure with JC Penny. Someday maybe we will get a stand alone Sephora….we can dream!

        • grace at the stripe says 10.9.19

          AHH that’s so interesting and great to know because the Sephora standalone stores are so great, service wise!
          In that case I’d say buy + return from Sephora online… (then again I mostly shop online as it’s my preference!)

  7. Catalina says 10.9.19

    I am so glad you reviewed this product, it has been everywhere lately as the be all end all hylaronic acid serum. I have very dry skin and live in Alaska and it gets incredibly dry, which is sometimes unbearable on my dry, sensitive, 35-year-old skin! I was so excited to put this in my cart and then read the Sephora reviews and thought, hmmm….not so sure anymore, so thank you for addressing the negative reviews there.

    This is definitely an investment and might be my “treat yourself” skincare item I get for the fall. Thanks for the in-depth review and research, I really love all your skin care recs!

    • grace at the stripe says 10.9.19

      I’m so glad to hear that. It is definitely an investment but a worthy one. Be sure to pair it with a really hydrating moisturizer that will lock in the benefits of the product!!! Two that I’d recommend are the Tatcha Dewy Skin Cream or the Primera Water Cream. Or even Skin Food! My skin is really dry too (especially with travel + the changing seasons) and it really likes the combo of this serum + an ultra rich cream.

  8. Heidi says 10.9.19

    I am not sure if this is something you’d consider but it would be great if you could include a price range for the products you review. I just find that I read things on blogs and it all sounds very interesting, then I go searching for the product only to find it’s totally out of my price range. I know it’s not that hard for me to google a price, it’s just a thought. Thank you.

  9. Sara says 10.14.19

    Hi! Would you apply this before or after a Vitamin C cream?