Briogeo Scalp Revival Review.

Briogeo Scalp Revival Review

This post was originally published in July but I’ve given it a little refresher!

I’m excited about this product review as it’s a good one. But first – we have to talk about the scent. I KNOW THIS IS NOT THE POINT or the thing we should care about most… but GUYS: this stuff smells pretty much exactly like a Girl Scout Thin Mint cookie. It’s wild. The scent is dead on. This scalp scrub/shampoo potion is highly effective but is also going to make you crave those cookies… badly. I just needed to warn you! It legitimately makes me hungry. PS – More about the whole scalp revival collection in this post, but also, use code STRIPE for 15% off sitewide!

Briogeo Scalp Revival Review

what it is: This is a charcoal and coconut oil micro-exfoliating scrub. I have tried a lot of scalp scrubs and detox treatments etc etc and Briogeo Scalp Revival is different from the others as it’s much less granular than say, the Christophe Robin one or the Goop one. (And I love those too but this one feels more manageable and is a little easier to rinse out.)

why I love it: The granules feel more like sand, if that makes sense… and (as I said earlier!) it smells BEYOND. It gets your hair very very clean (removing product buildup and grime… hello dry shampoo and sunscreen!). Besides that, it’s also very soothing, which I appreciate as my scalp can get itchy and dry.

why it works! There’s a lot going on with this product. First of all, charcoal powder detoxifies and draws impurities from the scalp and hair follicle. Briogeo uses Binchotan charcoal powder, which is a traditionally Japanese charcoal that is completely different from typical black charcoal. It can it can absorb deep-rooted impurities and build-up from the hair and scalp. The highly absorptive quality gives Binchotan charcoal a detoxifying effect on the scalp. Micro-exfoliators (again, these are more like sand, not larger chunks like many scrubs) remove dead skin cells. Meanwhile mentha piperita (peppermint) oil and spearmint cool and help to reduce scalp itchiness, alongside tea tree oil which calms and reduces scalp irritation and inflammation. Last but not least, coconut oil hydrates! And did I mention it’s totally clean and free of all the bad stuff? I LOVE this product. And the peppermint and spearmint oils smell SO GOOD.

PS – how to deep clean your scalp at home, and my favorite apple cider vinegar hair rinse recipe.

Briogeo Scalp Revival Review

the best deep clean for your scalp!

This is going to be your new best friend, especially if your scalp gets itchy due to dryness or product buildup. It’s perfect for all my fellow dry-shampoo addicts AND it smells amazing.

shop!

Does Briogeo Scalp Revival work

This post contains affiliate links. If you make a purchase, I may earn a small commission.

Leave a Comment

Comments

  1. Cara Miklasz says 7.8.20

    I just bought this last week after seeing this listed in your first post about black owned businesses. I love it! I bought it in the travel sized kit and it came with conditioner and and a treatment oil. Love all 3 products:) Thanks for putting this awesome company on my radar 🙂

  2. Chelsea Finn says 7.8.20

    Thank you so much for sharing! My hair has so much buildup from shampoo and it’s thin so I feel like it never fully looks clean. Definitely going to try this!

    xx Chelsea
    http://www.organizedmessblog.com

  3. Stephanie says 7.8.20

    I cannot say enough good things about this product! I have been using it for almost a year now along with the scalp treatment and it is life changing. While I know it is recommended for people with a lot of buildup or with dandruff/flakes, it is also great if you have an oily scalp. Unfortunately due to some medicine, my scalp started producing oil like crazy but my hair, especially the ends, was still dry. I had to wash my hair everyday just to avoid an oily mess. I started using this and the scalp treatment and now I am back to washing my hair every third day and my ends are just fine! I think it’s the tea tree oil but it balances out the ph balance in my scalp (it’s like getting a cleanser and toner in one). The founder also did a great podcast on Second Life with Hillary Kerr if you want to learn more about her and the brand. I stock up at Sephora and DermStore sales and just started trying the scalp massager and one of their conditioners.

    • Oh thank you for the tips!!!!! (And I love Second Life so def going to look up this interview.)

      xx

  4. Nicole says 7.8.20

    I love this product when I want to indulge myself. Although, I tend to follow grandma’s advice and “wash” with a paste of baking soda and water followed by an apple cider vinegar rinse when I want the same impact. Because let’s be honest smelling like a pickle (or maybe it’s just noticeable to me) is not ideal.

    • That works, too!!!! Def check out the other post I linked, I shared several good DIY versions!

  5. Megan says 7.8.20

    I got a sample of this as my birthday gift from Sephora and LOVED it!

  6. Sarah says 7.8.20

    Is this an every day shampoo or once a week?

    • I think that’s up to you! You can use as a shampoo but I generally do it 1-2x a week.

  7. Maggie says 7.8.20

    Just ordered it!

    • Yay!!! Keep me posted on how you like it!

      • Maggie says 7.14.20

        Got it in the mail yesterday (quick shipping!) and used it this morning for the first time! The smell is sooooo delicious, lol.

  8. Karina says 7.8.20

    I’ve been debating this product for a while but I think this deals the deal that I have to buy it!!

  9. Leah Rockwell says 7.8.20

    You had me at Thin Mint!

  10. Dara says 7.8.20

    So pleased to see others love this too! This SAVED my scalp! I was itching so much that I had scabs, but I use this every few washes along with the drops after every wash (sadly sold out right now) and my scalp is so much healthier!

    • Aw good I am so glad and now I want to try the drops!!!!

    • Karina says 7.9.20

      Dara – This sounds so much like my scalp. It’s horrible. Hoping this will help me as much1

  11. Lisa Autumn says 7.9.20

    Oh I wish I could get this here in Germany x

    Lisa | lisaautumn.com

  12. Kat says 7.9.20

    My biggest takeaway from this post is that scalp sunscreen is a thing… never heard of it before you mentioned dry shampoo and sunscreen build up but googling now! Also the scrub sounds amazing.

    • HAHAHA it’s nothing fancy but if I’m sitting out in the sun I spray my hair with my sunscreen spritz, or apply a layer of sunscreen to my part!

  13. The Career Edit says 7.13.20

    Oh, I need to give this a try! I do battle with itchy scalp now and then so I am really hoping this will do the trick! Thank you for sharing!

    The Career Edit | http://thecareeredit.co

  14. Debra says 2.16.21

    NOT for colored hair in my experience.

  15. E says 3.9.21

    Does anyone experience a HUGE amount of hair loss after using this? I’ve used it a few times now (after buying it because of this original post!) but have alarming clumps of hair fall out during/after use…

    Only me?

    • Cy says 3.9.21

      I love this ( oily scalp, dryer ends) I have not extra hair or color loss. Probably been using it about a year, once a week. I did have extra (scary) hair loss after recovering from Covid19 earlier this year ( now back to normal)Your hair loss might be a severe( rare) allergic reaction, but it’s probably not related to this product. Thanks Grace for the rec !

    • grace at the stripe says 3.10.21

      Oh no – not for me! Though I will say if it’s been a while and I haven’t washed my hair in several days I do lose more hair than normal. If this is happening I would stop using it and talk to a doctor.

  16. Caitlin says 3.9.21

    This shampoo is great. I saw your recommendation and purchased it, I’m always searching for products that soothe and treat my dry, itchy scalp. It smells heavenly. After using it for the first time, I bought girl scout cookies! lol

    • grace at the stripe says 3.10.21

      I am so happy to hear that! It literally does smell just like girl scout cookies!!!

  17. Anna says 3.10.21

    Grace, as a longtime reader, I found your IG stories yesterday about Jackie to be pretty disappointing. I think there’s a difference between denouncing someone and holding them accountable or following up. If you’re giving someone a platform to talk about themselves and their work, I think it’s really important to think critically about how their statements/views might come across to readers. I don’t think it would’ve been out of line at all during that conversation for you to have followed up and said something like, “I think it’s important to point out that people go to therapy for all sorts of reasons, though, not just because they’re in a hole.” Honestly, that’s protecting Jackie, too! For all we know, she just misspoke or was being hyperbolic and that would’ve given her an opportunity to clarify her views. Or that part could’ve been cut out during the editing process. I agree with you that we have to protect people we care about, but part of protecting is also being aware of and pointing out their blind spots. I would hope that happens during both private and public conversations.

    • Anna says 3.10.21

      ETA: I guess my feeling is that the point isn’t to say, “I love this service but this made a lot of people feel bad so I shouldn’t have shared that part of my life. but instead to say, “Being dismissive of therapy as preventative healthcare is wrong, and we should have said so and nipped that in the bud during the conversation with someone who offers life coaching as an alternative to therapy.”