August 2018 in Review.

August 2018 in Review | The Stripe

Happy September! A few months ago I started doing these little month in review style posts to highlight the top posts + products from the previous month. (See also: July 2018 in review!) It’s easy to miss posts + products and I personally love seeing what everyone loved! So here is August in review… the best performing (most highly trafficked) posts, and the products you bought the most of! Enjoy!

(as always – I really value your feedback! let me know in the comments what you’d like to see more – or less – of next month!)

THIS MONTH’S TOP 5 BLOG POSTS!

one // Apple Cider Vinegar Hair Rinse Recipe. Yay! I was so happy with the response to this post as an apple cider vinegar hair rinse is one of the best, easiest, and most inexpensive things you can do for your hair. It’s so easy to make and leaves your hair bouncy + shiny (while deep cleansing your scalp.

two // August 2018 Reading List. My reading lists are always a reader favorite so this was no surprise! I read so many great books last month (and more books this month as well!).

three // When Everything is a Mess. Ugh. Sometimes life is not perfect. I was having a real banner week when I wrote this post. Things got better (they always do!) but your comments and perspective were so helpful and encouraging to me!!!

four // Tips for Buying Clothes on Amazon. I shop a lot on Amazon as it is but have only recently started buying clothing there! It can be overwhelming (and there is a lot of shady stuff on there!!) but I’ve found there’s also a lot of great stuff to! In this post, I round up my best tips, my favorite Amazon sellers, + more!

five // A Hodge Podge of Random Things. I was surprised (and encouraged) that this post did so well. Sometimes I just want to share the things I love with you guys. It’s not always beautiful or professionally shot, this was literally just a list of the things I love (similar to the early days of blogging). I am going to do more posts like this!

August 2018 in Review

TOP 10 BEST SELLING PRODUCTS // AUGUST 2018 IN REVIEW

Here are the things you bought the most of, this month!

one // Faithfull the Brand Green Striped Dress. This is just the best dress ever. So many of you sent me IG stories of you wearing it (I love when you do that!!) which made me so happy. It’s also available here and here. I wore it in this post, and would say that it runs slightly small. I am usually a small or a medium and the medium is perfect!

two // La Blanca Swimsuit. So you probably aren’t in the market for a new swimsuit right now, but even if you aren’t, this is such a good one. It’s super flattering and slimming but also cool (I love the lace up back + scalloped details). It’s a great swimsuit, and I HATE bathing suit shopping!

three // Glossier Lash Slick. This is my favorite everyday mascara. I’m about to buy my second tube which I never do as I get so many mascaras to try. You can read the full review of it here, but what I really love about it is how natural it looks and that it never smudges or feathers or ends up under my eye. It makes you look pretty but not like you tried, and that’s how I always want to look.

four // Eileen Fisher Silk Camisole. I am really having a moment with Eileen Fisher this month. Her pieces are so easy and effortless. I bought this one in black and just love it so much. It’s your perfect basic cami. I plan to collect a whole rainbow of them.

five // Polaroid Sunglasses. I wear these sunglasses so much (and even bought my mom a pair). They look like Celine but are $65, and they look great on everyone who tries them on. Not the most exciting product but a great product.

six // Weleda Skin Food. So happy to see that more of you are getting on board with this product. I call this the organic (and less expensive La Mer). It’s the BEST. Read more in this post.

seven // Rag & Bone Denim Shorts. You probably aren’t in the market for denim shorts either, but these are the ones I always wear in (basically every) instagram/in life/etc. They rule.

eight // Bardot Polka Dot Dress. Just a great polka dot dress! (And it’s on sale now.) I bought it during the Nordstrom sale, wore it in this post and highly recommend it.

nine // Natori Feathers Bra. This bra! It’s amazing! It also ranked in July. It’s comfortable, supportive, pretty.. the whole deal.

ten // Wander Beauty Mascara. Wow, you guys were into mascaras this month! Love that – mascara is definitely my desert island makeup product. So the Glossier is what I wear on an everyday basis when I want to look effortless, but Wander is what I pull out when I want to look like I did try. It’s the perfect more dramatic mascara- length, volume, curl… the whole shebang. You’ll look like you have extensions on (but your lashes will never be gloppy or spidery).

Leave a Comment

Comments

  1. I love the simple scallop details of the La Blanca Swimsuit! It’s so cute, but I guess it’s probably a little too late to get a new swimsuit now, haha! 🙂

    Charmaine Ng | Architecture & Lifestyle Blog
    http://charmainenyw.com

  2. Love your wrap ups! Thanks for sharing all of these, I’ve loved reading The Stripe this past month!

    I hope you have a fab Thursday!
    Michael
    https://www.mileinmyglasses.com

  3. Sasha says 9.6.18

    I had been looking for the post with it in it to write this comment but wanted to tell you… I ordered the La Blanca bathing suit because of your post and I LOVE it. So flattering but also cute! I gained a few pounds this year and had a really hard time with bathing suits this summer, and this was the only one I felt OK in, so thank you!

    • This makes me so happy to hear! It really is the beset suit – it’s so flattering, and so comfy. xx

  4. Cy says 9.6.18

    I ordered my first order of glossier products to see what the fuss is about. I bought, the mascara, brow boy,highlighter and body oil wash. My favorite thing is the body wash! My sister tried it when she was visiting and it was her favorite too. The mascara good, full disclosure, I hate wearing mascara, it flaked, but didn’t smug. I would be curious to see what you think of the Ulta Maximum lashes. I got it as a gift with purchase and was pretty blown away. Still one of my favorites. I’m going to try the Wander one soon. I joined the book club and started “Sweet Little Lies”. In an effort to read more, real books. Really enjoying it! Such a great round up,I need to try the apple cider rinse soon. So many good things here. P.S. I purschaed the Sonix sunniesin the green,love them! On Amazon they were $48. They also had the nude,$498! I’m happy with the green.

  5. Cy says 9.6.18

    OMG! I just checked again on Amazon and all the Sonix sunglasses are @$500!,except the green. Cult craze !

    • I honestly have no idea what is happening there; I think it’s an error but Amazon is so big that you can’t really tell them!!!

      Needless to say when I bought mine (nude and black) both pairs were $48!!!

  6. Charlotte says 9.6.18

    I am new to your blog, and I enjoy it so much! In fact, (getting a little personal here), I was in dyer need of a “proper” bra fitting and new ones, and I have to thank you for mentioning the brand “Natori”/Feathers bra. I am so thrilled to have gone to Nordtrom’s, had a fitting and purchased 3 Feathers, so comfy, pretty, and figure flattering. Thank you!!! Love the wrap tops too!

  7. sarah hubler says 9.9.18

    I love the idea of these posts! Such a good idea to see what all I might have missed:)